11.18.2007

The fun of being vegetarian

Want some Mc Donalds Fries? Check out the second or third ingredient as listed on their own website. Mc Donalds is now scratched off my list!

French Fries:
Potatoes, vegetable oil (partially hydrogenated soybean oil, natural beef flavor (wheat and milk derivatives)*, citric acid (preservative), dextrose, sodium acid pyrophosphate (maintain color), dimethylpolysiloxane (antifoaming agent)), salt. Prepared in vegetable oil ((may contain one of the following: Canola oil, corn oil, soybean oil, hydrogenated soybean oil, partially hydrogenated soybean oil, partially hydrogenated corn oil with TBHQ and citric acid added to preserve freshness), dimethylpolysiloxane added as an antifoaming agent). *CONTAINS: WHEAT AND MILK (Natural beef flavor contains hydrolyzed wheat and hydrolyzed milk as starting ingredients.)

7 comments:

Christy said...

Good to know.

Kat said...

How strange. Why would they put beef flavor in? Gross. The question is are they using artificial flavor or not? Still eeew and sorry for all the vegetarians out there.

Ginger said...

That show I was watching where I learned this random fact talked about the fact that by the time the food gets to the point where you cook it, it is so highly processed that it actually loses ALL of it's flavor and nutrients, so once they have processed the basic ingredients, they fortify their food products with flavor additives etc. It's the reason that no matter where you buy McDonalds (from Nevada to Hong Kong), the food tastes the same.

Rachel said...

Oh gross-I did not know you were vegan. Damn they are good fries but I am allerhic to wheat and milk. YUK! How are you blogging the same with a little one? You are truly a super hero.

Kat said...

Wow thanks Ginger for the insight on that. I was actually wondering. Not that I have eaten fries at McDonalds in a while but I will make sure should I ever go back not to eat fries. I am not a vegetarian but that food processing thing is just too much.

Em said...

Yuck yuck yuck the gits!!!

Robin said...

I may not be correct, but I believe the beef flavoring comes from the oil or something. Because my son is on the GF/CF diet, and he eats McDonalds fries and is ok. And last time I checked the Celiacs group said they were also ok as far as allergies go. So, from what I understand it's not actually in the fries, the fries just come in contact with it in the process of cooking.

Theme song